Graphic Design Project- Draft

com 210 draft.1

For this project I decided I wanted to make something to promote my production company and show what I’ve made and plan to make. To do this I decided to harken back to the early days of  film and TV production where different studios would put out poster promoting the projects they’ve made and try to drum up clients for future projects. I have a book of this type of old posters and I also looked online.

When it came to collecting the images needed for the project I lucked out because I had been taking behind the scenes photos from the different projects I’ve been working on for over three years now. Besides that, all the other graphics I used I either made or got off freepik.com under different creative commons licenses.

Now that I had all my materials collected it was time to start putting the project together. I recently learned how to use color gradients, so I made one for the sunrise in the background and the spotlight that contains the production company’s name. I also utilized the blending tool to make the project more closely resemble an old movie poster/ production company ad. I also used a layer mask for all the photos inside of the different film stripes.

I knew I wanted to include pictures taken from behind the scenes of previous projects I worked on. I thought the best way to include these was to put them inside of film stripes. Once I had this idea I decided the overall aesthetic of the poster should be very old stylized images of Hollywood. This was the similarity aspect of the Gestalt Theory we had read about.

Moving on to the color of the poster I knew I wanted to incorporate a sunset because it shows style and class. To get this effect I used the color gradient tool and used analogues colors to get a product that would be pleasing to the eyes. Then when it came down to what color to make the Hollywood hills I knew I’d need a color complementary to orange so using the color wheel I ended up with purple. This is nice too because landscape can get a kind of purplish hue during a sunrise, so it works on two levels.

For the font I wanted something bubbly and inviting for the main name of my production company, Good Morning, so I went with a font that was pre-saved on my computer. I made sure that it was sans-serif so that the name could be read from farther away. Then for the word productions I went with something a little more professional.

The biggest difficulty I faced while making this project draft was trying to get photos to crop right. I unfortunately didn’t find many premade free use png images to use for this project so for most of the graphics I had to crop around a jpg image to give it a translucent background. This is problematic though because often the magnetic lasso tool or the quick select tool will leave little specks of the original background still attached to the image. The most useful work around for this I found was to feather the image and covert it to black and white then recolor it if the graphic is only one solid color.

SOURCES

Hollywood sign:

https://dumielauxepices.net/wallpaper-3989234

Public Domain/ Free Culture

Film Strip:

https://www.freepik.com/free-vector/film-roll_1020923.htm#term=film&page=1&position=0

Free Commercial Use with Attribution

Spotlight:

http://worldartsme.com/hollywood-spotlight-clipart.html#gal_post_64603_hollywood-spotlight-clipart-1.jpg

Free Use with Attribution

7 thoughts on “Graphic Design Project- Draft

  1. I overall kike the project and how it looks. I like how you blended all the images into the video strip that make it look unique. The spotlight in shines toward your company name “good morning productions” is a good idea which makes it the main point of attraction. The strong part in your project is the blending of all the images, words and clip arts. Also the color complements each other with good balance and levels. I would suggest see if different colors for the stroke background would work better or a single stroke background. Another thing you can try is using the blending brush on some of the images. Overall I liked the project and the colors In It make it stand out and inviting. Good job.

    Like

  2. Hi Noah,
    I think you did an excellent job on your project. I agree that the purple goes wells with the color scheme, and your poster looks great! I like how you used the textures to go along with the poster. The only suggestions I have are to maybe try and fade the colors on the sign a bit to get the “old poster” effect. Also, most of your pictures are cropped fantastically, but there is one in the bottom right corner that is a little wonky. I also like how you incorporated the history of Hollywood in it, but also made it your own. You picked excellent colors, as they attract the eye very well. Good job!

    Like

    • I think you did an amazing job! It looks fantastic and it is very well done! The edges of the poster don’t look like the texture went with the color, so maybe try to adjust that a little more. Other than that you did a fantastic job!

      Like

  3. Your poster looks very old school and professional. I like the color scheme you chose the purple and orange are nice colors that work well with each other. The colors also help them define themselves and stand out more. Plus the font you used for the “Good Morning” is big making it easy to read. I also really like what you did with putting the words in the light making it more creative and making this whole Hollywood film look more defined. My favorite was the damage paper look it has, it looks so real and more unique. Lastly, the way you displayed the photos is a very nice touch to the old film theme. I would rethink your choice of photos. Some are a little difficult to relate to your concept and taking it a step further and even just adjusting the colors of the photos to make them look older and further strengthening the old film theme would really do wonders. You did a very good job!

    Like

  4. To begin, I am very impressed with your work. It is very apparent you put a lot of time and effort into this project. I understand why and can appreciate how you used the photos that you did, some of them are difficult to look at and discern what is going on. The photos are small and in some of them it is hard to tell what exactly is going on. However, the design is still very strong. Something that I noticed is that the colors are very bright, and the font is very instrumental in the quality of the design. The project is a good early impression for the topic of your blog.

    Like

  5. After reading everyone’s comments on my project I’ve pinpointed a couple aspects I think I could improve on. The first being that I need to re-adjust some of my photos I used. This is something I noticed when looking back on the project and was brought up in the critiques that some of the photos I used are hard to see because they are smaller. I have some other photos I think would fit better. I also think if I adjusted the saturation and contrast on the photos I could make the colors pop more and this would be helpful as well. Anything I gleamed from critiques was that I could try battering the end of the poster to make it fit more with the overall design. There are several tools I could use to do this including crop or the magic wand to select and delete certain parts of the poster’s edge. The strongest part of my poster I think is the old timey look of it. This seems to fit the aesthetic I was going for as well as help tell a story.

    Like

  6. Your poster looks really great! I love the idea and how the colors all match and seems like a poster to promote a production theme. I love how its in film format and various pictures to show different scenarious just how a show would look or have their credits rolling. I would however try croping them better and that ay we can see more of the picture because there are pictures that are difficult too see whats goinand cartoon look to fit the overall theme that you have going in the top two thirds.g on inside of them. Another idea is too apply a filter on all the images that give it a more poster

    Like

Leave a comment